Monday, June 7, 2021

Caleb the Person


I want you to know and understand who I am, what I'm about, what I like.

You can find me on the socials:

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

It is all public.

Here's the rundown. (It's going to sound a lot like a dating app bio.) 

The Stats:

I'll be 42 on election day. I'm single, never been married, don't have any kids. Hopefully one day! I rented here for about 10 years and then bought a house in 2018 in South Provo. I grew up outside of Boston until I was 11, moved to Northern California in 6th grade. I served a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Virginia, graduated from UVU in 2005, spent a few years in Mesa, AZ, and have lived in Provo since 2008 and also as a student while in college. My parents are divorced but both happily remarried. I have 4 sisters, and 15 nieces and nephews. I love them all but they are spread all over the country so sadly, none of them will be able to vote for me!

The Person:

I'm the kind of guy that talks to my garden plants and tells them encouraging things. I like soccer, I played in college and I've had Real Salt Lake season tickets since 2010. I grew up a Patriots and Red Sox fan. I enjoy golf. I'm fun-loving and I regularly make myself laugh. I'm causal, approachable, friendly, and reasonable. I'm a lover not a fighter. I write poems. I love music and I'm confident that I have something in my selection that you can get down with. I put it on random and just let it happen. I've been on a couple championship rec softball teams here in Provo. I like to cook but mostly because I like to eat. 


The Business:

I graduated with a Bachelors degree in Business Management with a Marketing Emphasis from UVU in 2005. I worked for a commercial development company in Arizona for a few years after college until the crash in 2008. I moved back to Provo and worked for a private security and investigations company managing people and property. Then I took a job at UVU as the Assistant Director of  Intramural Sports where I organized leagues and events for students. Then I entered the trades and learned how to build, renovate, and repair homes. From kitchens to basements to bathrooms to decks, roofs, and sprinklers, in did a little bit of everything. If you're looking for some work done, I know a guy. I currently work as an Senior Field Construction Assistant for a national home builder managing the build process and getting homes ready for their new owners. I have adapted to the ever changing circumstances that life has thrown at me and done well in my many positions. I've been fortunate to choose work that I have enjoyed doing.

The Politics:

I'm an Independent Centrist. I don't know if that's a thing but that's what I am. I believe there are meaningful ideas and goals from both Republican and Democrats. I lean traditional Republican when it comes to fiscal conservativism, and more liberal on social issues, but I am not beholden to a party or a single set of ideals. I have a Libertarian streak in me that believes government should be minimally invasive, that people shouldn't be bogged down by a soggy, bloated government telling them how to live their lives. I don't think the government should care about who you love, what you drive, or how you spend your money.

The Dream:

The slogan for Provo is "Welcome Home." My vision and hope is that it is a home where everyone has a place, everyone has a voice, and everyone who wants to be here can be here and find happiness. We're doing pretty good. I want to help to do more, better.

No comments: